Cooking in love

I love to cook…almost as much as I love to eat. For me, cooking is not only a form of relaxation and creativity, but also a romantic event. Back in 2014, I wrote about my vision of Mr. Right. Of course, he was handsome, but this mythical man also enjoyed being around the kitchen. We would cook with each other or for each other. We would dance in the kitchen to real or imaginary music. We would feed each other. Yes, my kitchen would be full of steam, taste and desire. Or, at least back then, that is what I wished for.

Just a couple of years later, my wish came true…literally. When I was about to give up on my attempts at love, I fell for it again.  However, a year and half has passed since then, and still, I could not be happier. My blind date fairytale man is nearly perfect, and I adore him. And, some of my favorite memories are of us in the kitchen together. Sometimes, I am cooking something while he sits and speaks to me. Other times, the roles are reversed or we are both cooking. Sometimes, there is a lot of talking, laughing, hugging and kissing in between kitchen tasks. Other times, we may just chop and dice comfortably not speaking as we listen to NPR news or some music. More than a few times, there has been a spontaneous dance move or dip. I would like to say, it is just like I envisioned. Yet, I think it is more because it is no longer a dream. It is my reality.

I am not really sure where this romance and food idea came from. It was not something I recall seeing as a child. Food was food. It was never romantic. It was merely a way to curb hunger However, over the years, food became so much more. According to Maya Angelou’s quote below though, it is pretty common to consider eating/cooking as a form of intimacy.

Eating is so intimate. It’s very sensual.

When you invite someone to sit at your table and you want to cook for them,

you’re inviting a person into your life.

~Maya Angelou~

Naturally, Maya Angelou said it beautifully, like she had so many other things. The joy and pleasure of eating and sharing a meal with others is undeniable. It certainly is for me and my boyfriend.

What is it like at your house…or in your dreams?

~~~~~~~~~~

For Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge ~ Challenger’s Choice.

5 thoughts on “Cooking in love

  1. Pingback: Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge: Challenger’s Choice-Portrait (of a Pitcher Plant) | Lens and Pens by Sally

Leave a Reply

