Flowers bring comfort

Flowers… are a proud assertion that a ray of beauty outvalues all the utilities of the world.

~Ralph Waldo Emerson~

Sometimes the world is plain ugly. Wait. Let me rephrase that. The world itself is beautiful. It is the behavior of some humans that is ugly.

We are bombarded by ugliness daily. Whether your reading the news, interacting at work, or driving along the highways, you have most likely seen some bad examples of humanity. Lies, greed, aggression and so much more can stress us out. Heck, the election alone has caused many of us anxiety.

In times of stress, we all have to find ways to relax and recenter our thoughts. Personally, I find that a variety of tactics help lower my stress levels. I enjoy everything from photography to kayaking. One of the simplest and most effective relaxation techniques though is looking at flowers. There is something elegant and magical about flowers. They appear so delicate and yet, tend to be fairly durable to the elements. I sometimes stand in awe of God’s creations, just studying their petals, their colors, their aroma.

The endless array of floral options remind me of the world’s beauty, restoring my hope in the goodness of the world. And when I don’t have fresh flowers around, I am just as content with editing photos of nature’s bouquets. In the photos above, I merged two photos into one montage. I liked the blend of photos and they seemed to have a dream-like quality to them.

So on tough days where I am stressed out, you may find me walking around staring at flowers or editing countless pictures of them. It will be in those moments that I am trying to forget all the ugly acts of humans and thank God for his wonderful creations. For when I see His flowers, I am reminded that the world is indeed magical, and my hope is restored.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

For Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge ~ nature montage.

7 thoughts on “Flowers bring comfort

  1. Pingback: Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge: Editing and Processing (Forest Light Photomontage #2) | Lens and Pens by Sally

Leave a Reply

