It starts with a seed

I love all seasons, but I have to say that fall is a favorite for me. I love the bold colors and cooler weather. I adore carving pumpkins and decorating with all the autumn decor. I enjoy wearing big sweaters and tall boots. Overall though, I love watching the change of seasons after the brutal Southern summers.

One of the first things I notice in the fall, is the great oak trees start dropping their acorns. I love the colors and textures of these little wonders. Where I work, there are several very old and grand oak trees. As I walk around, I can’t help but notice the hundreds of little acorns scattered around the trees this time of year. So this year, I gathered up a few to show you their beauty.

Besides their beauty, I am attracted to their power. These cute little acorns have the ability to be something huge. Ralph Waldo Emerson once said, “The creation of a thousand forests is in one acorn.”

acorn

As I look at all the acorns laying about, getting stepped on and being whisked away by squirrels, they remind me of life itself. With all the complexities in the world, life is not generally easy. However, most of us are given a certain amount of tools/skills to work with. Then, we have various opportunities placed before us. Sometimes the opportunities are good. Other times, maybe not so much, but we generally only see that in hindsight if we chose poorly.

As we chip away at these opportunities, we come up with ideas, plans and dreams. Countless decisions in life must be made. And like opportunities, we hope there are more good than bad. When we make bad decisions or just get bad results, we get discouraged naturally. Whether it is a negative work experience or a painful relationship, those hard times can make us reluctant. We figure we can avoid pain and upset by avoiding the future risk altogether. While this may be true to some extent, this avoidance can also limit our joy and success.

To reach our dreams, we have to keep dropping acorns. We have to keep sharing ideas, making plans and taking risks. Some of these things won’t work. While unfortunate, that is just part of life. But we have to keep trying. We have to keep planning and working. Because it could take just one acorn to make the difference in our lives.

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

For Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge ~ Nature.

 

14 thoughts on “It starts with a seed

  1. Pingback: Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge: Nature (Autumn and Photomontage Series) | Lens and Pens by Sally

  2. Autumn is my favourite time of year, too. I love the colours and the fabulous sunsets we get here in Ireland and the fact that we start to light our fires again. (Although I know some people who continue to light them throughout the typical Irish summer, lol).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, I love have backyard bonfires and roasting marshmallows. Or a nice fire in the house on a cold night. There is just so much to enjoy. Well, I guess every season has wonderful things to enjoy as long you you look:)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

