Macro to More

“To me, photography is an art of observation. It’s about finding something interesting in an ordinary place…I’ve found it has little to do with the things you see and everything to do with the way you see them.”

~ Elliott Erwitt~

While I was deciding on what to post today, I did a random search for macro photography quotes. As I scrolled through some various quotes, one stuck with me. The quote above from Elliott Erwitt is my photography mantra basically. When I am walking around, I see pictures. I literally have to force myself to keep moving at times or I will stop and stare at things, and if my camera is around, take 5 or 100 photos.

I think about the perspectives and watch the light. I look closely to see the wonder that a passerby may miss in their frantic pace of life. Of course, I can’t do this all the time. I do have a job to do and bills to pay. But, even in the midst of day-to-day life, I notice the world and think, “That would make a great picture.”

Anyway, as I thought about Erwitt’s quote, I realized,  I honestly had no idea who the man was. So I did some internet research. Hhhmmmm. This is the photographer who shot the famous Marilyn Monroe subway vent shots!

f89e051db93a6604b601536a4926ed93

According to Wikipedia, “Erwitt is an advertising and documentary photographer known for his black and white candid shots of ironic and absurd situations within everyday settings.” He also served two years in the Army as a photographer’s assistant.

There is a lot more to say about the man of course, but I hate to repeat what others have already stated to so well. So check out some of these links if you want to know more:

Fellow WordPress blogger – BWGallerist

Dirk De Graaf on Pintrest

Wikipedia

American Photo Magazine

Overall, a very interesting mini research project on some history in the world of photography. I would have to say, I never thought this is where my thoughts would go for my macro post on some flowers from my yard.

I suppose that is what is fun about opening our eyes to world. For when we look a little deeper at things, we not only discover beauty, but we sometimes find mystery, wonder, inspiration, details and history that just could effect us in some way. Maybe we will learn something, shift our perspective or find some solace. Regardless, the closer we look at things, the more we really see them.

Where will your camera take you? And what will you find if you look a little deeper?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

For Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge ~ Macro.

9 thoughts on “Macro to More

  1. Pingback: Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge: Macro (with Gerber Daisy) | Lens and Pens by Sally

  2. Nato, this blogging journey can take us to otherwise unknown places that peak our creativity and open new worlds for us. You did a nice job of storytelling about your slight detour into Irwin and his work. The combination of his personal philosophy as a photographer and your work blended seamlessly. Happy Photo Challenge.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great post. I always am thinking, “that would make a great photo” too and walking by seeing the wonder in things that most people probably pass by without a second thought. I supposed this is the nature of us photographers. Lovely macro shots.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Sheila. Yes, I try to be more subtle about it when I am with others. I hate to hold them up if I stop to take pictures every four feet, lol. On the bright side, my boyfriend will point things out to me and no we go on photo dates. I bring him one of my cameras and we just wander around shooting whatever we find. He is way behind on editing his pictures though!

      Liked by 1 person

    • I am so glad you enjoyed it Janet. There is much beauty in the world. Sometimes, like lately in the news, we might have to look harder to see it. It’s still there and there is so much to discover:)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

