The Garden Project Update

In May, I shared the creation my garden project. Now, all the garden boxes are in place. The vegetables have been planted. Some flowers have been added for decor around the yard and the watering has begun. So, I thought it was time to show you some of the progress. Below is a slide show that give you a view of the progression over the past month.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As you can see, we have growth happening! We have also had to start fighting the beetles from eating our progress. They seem particularly drawn to the gerber daisy leaves and the hibiscus plants. Therefore, I have started a war with them. So far it is a tie.

I have to admit that I really like watching nature bloom in my back yard. The first seeds that were planted were zucchini seeds. They were in the first prototype garden box we built. So they have a good two weeks (or more) of growth on all them over the other seedlings. They also got a box full of Miracle Grow soil. These two factors have seemed to help them greatly. As you can see below, the zucchini pants (four) are massive. In the firs shot the little seedlings is not even over the wood trim of the container garden. In the next shot, they are huge. If you look at the garden box to the left, you can see that the zucchini are taller than the 42″ wire tomato plant guides. I think I need to start researching different zucchini recipes.

The other garden boxes did not get full Miracle Grow soil though. After doing some math, I wound up getting some top soil delivered. It was just too expensive to fill six garden boxes with 12 $12-bags. So the remaining bags got a mix of top soil, Miracle Grow soil, and regular Miracle Grow-treated waterings. Fingers crossed, the garden will continue to blossom well.

This whole project has been a lot of work. Thanks to my dad and boyfriend, the three of us have shaped our little corner of the earth. Through pouring sweat, aching backs, disappearing money, countless bug bites, and even a little blood, we have become part of nature’s glory.

On days off, I really enjoy walking around the yard to check out Mother Nature’s progress. (With shout outs to my dad too who is the full-time grounds keeper. I really couldn’t keep this all alive without him!) It’s amazing to watch a little seed bloom into such grandeur, and to know we helped it. The therapeutic value of the garden is powerful too. This is not a new thought though. Gardens have been known to have that power and have written about often. Below are a few garden/gardening quotes that you may find interesting.

The best place to seek God is in a garden. You can dig for him there.”

~George Bernard Shaw, The Adventures of the Black Girl in Her Search for God, 1932~

~

Gardening is cheaper than therapy and you get tomatoes.”

~Author Unknown~

~

Gardens are a form of autobiography.”

~Sydney Eddison, Horticulture magazine, August/September 1993~

I would have to agree with those quotes. They are very on point for my life.

Another thing I have enjoyed about the garden has been the access to numerous photo opportunities. Below are a few of my favorite iPhone shots and my actual submission pieces to Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge ~ Nature.

If you want to see more shots of the garden that I took with my actual cameras, just click over to my photography blog post.

And if you come back next Thursday for Sally’s Macro Challenge week, I will show you my little garden lizards. I did a full photo shoot with them as they were quite adorable and tolerant of my presence. I took so many shots that it looks like a full blown modeling session. 🙂

I also need to show you how we turned a Dish Network pole and dish into a a bird bath! But that is another post. I have rambled enough for now.

Enjoy your day you lovely readers of blogs! And don’t forget to hop over to Sally’s page, Lens and Pens by Sally. Check out her challenge and join in on the fun.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

For Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge ~ Nature.

 

 

9 thoughts on “The Garden Project Update

  1. Pingback: Returned to Nature | Chasing Life and Finding Dreams

    • So far, we have some beetle and cutworms. Little bit of damage but not too much. We have even had a few green beans to enjoy so far! And the zucchini is just now started to produce the vegetables! I better prep some zucchini recipes!

      Like

  2. I enjoy your pictures, I like the little signs you put into the ground…my dad use to do that…he is long gone, I have some of his gardening talents, which makes me happy now that he is gone…

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am glad you enjoyed it. Yes, my dad loves taking care of the garden. I am trying to learn from him:)
      It’s nice that you can remember your dad through gardening. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

