Oh Laughter, Please Save Me

I believe that imagination is stronger than knowledge.

That myth is more potent than history.

That dreams are more powerful than facts.

That hope always triumphs over experience.

That laughter is the only cure for grief.

And I believe that love is stronger than death.

~Robert Fulghum~

This quote on laughter made me think of this poem about losing someone to death.

 

~~

Like air, I crave you.

In my darkest of hours, you save me.

Pouring through my mind,

your melodies fill in the cracks

of my

broken

heart.

 

My soul weeps in loss.

I grieve so deeply,

I feel like

I am dead too.

 

But you sneak in,

behind my dark veil

and wet eyes

just when I am about to…

jump into a cavern

of endless grief.

 

You make me remember

her jokes,

her laugh,

the time she danced without a care.

I smile, even giggle.

 

She was ridiculous

and I loved her.

 

Hot tears stream

down my clammy face.

She is gone, and

I

Can

Do

Nothing…

But laugh.

 

For if I don’t laugh at my memories

or what she would have thought

was funny now,

I too will be gone, like her.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

For Writer’s Quote Wednesday’s Theme ~ Laughter.

laughter

8 thoughts on “Oh Laughter, Please Save Me

Leave a Reply

