Weeds of Life

No one plans for weeds. In fact, we do all we can to avoid them. Yet, sometimes, they still arrive as if on their own agenda, regardless of our efforts. The thing is, sometimes, they aren’t so bad. In fact, sometimes they are even good. It just takes a little perspective to appreciate them.

Just like in life, weeds, or unplanned things, sprout up in our lives. No matter how much we plan, organize or work, things happen. It is inevitable, and sometimes, it is just better than what we planned anyway.

I never planned on my children. Yes, I wanted to have kids one day. I just never planned on the time I had them. I wasn’t “ready” for them and we didn’t have “enough” money then. Life does not wait until things are perfect though. Funny thing is, had I waited to be perfectly ready and financially stable, I would have been 40 years old having them! So destiny took charge and now I have two wonderful adult kids and I can now enjoy my 40s without diapers and PTA meetings.

I never thought about joining the Army either. Yet, financial worries and life events led me to joining at 29 years old. It wasn’t the typical timeline for people to join and I was not physically ready, but here I am, 15 years later-still serving. With an Army Reserve job and a Army Civilian job, the Army is a huge part of my life. Even before I joined, I used to be married to a Soldier. So since I was 18, the Army has taken over my life plan.

When I joined the Army, I wanted to be a broadcaster since my degree was in broadcast journalism. However, at that time, the recruiters needed to fill print journalist quotas. So I got detoured into that. In hindsight, that was perfect. I still love broadcast and can throw together a decent video when asked, but writing and photography are more natural for me. I am passionate about those fields and could spend hours doing them and still want to do more. That is why I particularly love Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge. It is a fun combination of both of my passions.

I am sure there are more examples of how life took charge and lead me to where I should be, but I think you get the point. We can’t always stop the weeds/unplanned events sprouting up in our lives. All we can do is take a breath, appreciate the moment for what it is, take what we can from it and then, adjust our plans. Maybe the weed taught us a lesson? Maybe it was just a moment to reflect and appreciate. Maybe it slowed us down to see something else or protect us? Or maybe, just maybe…it altered our course to where we should have been all along.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

For Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge.

Check it out and join the fun!

11 thoughts on “Weeds of Life

  1. Reminds me of the saying, “If life gives you lemons, make lemonade.” 🙂 I wouldn’t mind dandelions at all IF a) they didn’t crowd out the grass and b) if they were so prolific at propagating! As it is, I keep them out by hand and enjoy them in the wild. 🙂

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge: Nature (and a Seasonal Legacy) | Lens and Pens by Sally

  3. I’ve always avoided the use of weeds, and opted for wildflowers. That description conjures beauty in unexpected places, which is exactly what occurs. A dandelion is one of those wild things that seems to become enticing in its final stages, giving us such thought-provoking delicacy. Happy Photo Challenge.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. We love the weeds in our yard (especially dandelions). We keep them cut, but we can’t bring ourselves to eliminate them as some have such beautiful delicate flowers. PTA meetings, that’s a different story. I could have easily eliminated them during that period of my life.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

