Broken Heart Drive

I’ll drive my heart into the night.”

It was a cryptic text response to his pathetic question, “Are you going to be OK?”

OK? Yeah. I’ll be just fine by morning. But tonight I’m pissed. Tonight, I felt used and stupid. So I’d drive and scream and cry. I’ll remember all romance and excitement…and betrayal.

After months of talking and flirting, and a week after I visited him, our daily chats disappeared. When I asked what was going on, Sam simply said he was not ready for a ‘relationship.’ “Did you think we were in a relationship?” he coldly asked.

“Well, not exactly, but I didn’t expect us to completely stop talking right after I visited. It seems odd, like I did something wrong,” was my reply.

I replay the conversation in my head over and over. It makes no sense.

“Oh, so why were you calling me every day? Why were you flirting with me? Why did you encourage me to visit?” I scream the questions into the dark of my car.

The silence mocks me. It tells me that I have been a fool and knew it from the start. I knew the risks of a long-distance romance, but I had to try. He did and said all the right things. He eagerly played his part. I saw his hands shake when we greeted each other at the airport. I saw the look on his face. I heard his voice tremble. “I didn’t imagine those things,” I say to myself as tears run down my face. “He cared. I know he did.” My self-encouragement doesn’t make me feel better though so I punch the accelerator.

The Nissan Z took the curves beautifully, giving me a sense of control. “I can’t believe I fell for it. Hook. Line. And Sinker.” I laugh and cry at the same time. “You are a fool Sara. How would this have worked anyway? You live states away from each other. Chalk it up to a fling and five wasted months. You did have fun while it lasted though.”

I smile. It was pretty fun for a bit. That was true. And had I not tried, I would have regretted it.

Regardless, my pity party was still on the clock and I would purge my soul of him by the morning…I hoped anyway. With that thought, I turn on the radio. Of course, a mournful song kicks me while I am down with it’s lyrics.

…But I guess I have no valentine. Send me roses, I’ll just let them die. I was crazy for thinking you were mine. It was all just a lie.

I laugh through my tears. “At least I am not the only fool.”

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

friday-fiction-200

  • Use the first line of one of your favorite song and begin your story with that line. (REQUIRED)
  • Word count of no more than 300. (STRONGLY SUGGESTED but I don’t want you to let it get in the way of creativity.)

 

And here is the song I used:

15 thoughts on “Broken Heart Drive

  1. This absolutely rocks! I love it, in all its essence.

    I hate that guys do that (and well, ladies too sometimes). Why lead me on? Why call, and say nice things, and just expect me to not think you want more? It’s crazy, I tell ya! Darn crazy… but sometimes, I go all out to ask the guy in question– “what are we doing?”. Sometimes, the mystery gets exasperating and I just have to know!

    I like the part where she admits it’s fun though. I mean, isn’t it almost always fun? And truly, when it comes to hearts and roses, half a heart is better than nothing at all.

    Lovely! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for all your kind words. I think to not get totally depressed at something failing, you would have to at least appreciate the fun part/build up/romance. I mean we start talking to someone with some expectations: good conversation, learn something, possible romance or potential new friend. And when those things fail to develop, there is some sort of disappointment naturally. Hopefully though, we can at least smile at the experience of trying the path.

      Liked by 1 person

      • True words. ‘m bringing myself to learn that these days. More, ‘m trying to even cut down on the expectations. I tell myself: I do what I do because he does what he does. Simple. If ‘it’ happens, great. If ‘it’ doesn’t, Hasta la vista. Life’s too uncertain to allow fear stop us from experiencing all the joy in relationships we find ourselves in.

        I love your outlook on things! 🙂 ❤

        Liked by 1 person

        • So true. If we are afraid to try…what will we miss. Of course, we may get hurt along the way. I have had many lies told to me and tears have fallen. However, each experience has taught me something. (Sometimes it just the lesson to avoid that person again, lol. Nonetheless, it is a lesson.) I think that is all we can do: keep trying and grabbing all we can out of life while helping as many as we can. Otherwise, what is the choice: bitter and alone. No thank you.

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Michelle, if you don’t start or have not started a contemporary within the next week, it will be a huge waste of storytelling talent. I am serious. And i want to be the one to help with it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I do have a rough outline of a story I have wanted to write. Not sure how to begin, which is why I started blogging. I needed to practice at some smaller things and build my confidence.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Friday Fiction with Ronovan Writes Prompt #11 Entries: THE LINKS | ronovanwrites

Leave a Reply

