Frogs and Turtles Teach us Life and Love

Many little girls grew up hearing the fairytale where the frog turns into a prince. From a young age, we are taught to believe in that magic. But as we grow up, real life starts and our fairytale dreams start to fade. We get our hearts broken so bad we think, we can never love again. We take it so personal we think, there is something defective with us. So we start to hide and shield ourselves from the risk.

Hiding does protect us, but it is cold and damp in that shell. People are made to connect. God designed us to love. Love does not come easy though. I learned that over the years while I searched for my prince. Just like Laura Prepon said, I was like every other girl. “Every girl on TV, in real life, sure you want to meet that soul mate and fall in love and have the big thing, but until that happens, you gotta kiss a lot of frogs.”

Kiss frogs I did. Maybe even a few toads. However, I thought they were cute and adorable. I believed they could be a prince. I saw their potential. So, I tried. I took risks. And according to James Bryant Conant, that is just what we should do-act like turtles. “Behold the turtle. He makes progress only when he sticks his neck out.”


Unfortunately though, it didn’t work. I tried and tried. Yet, each time I failed. And with each time, I found fault in myself. My confidence sunk. I retreated into my shell. Sure some of my suitors were jerks. No amount of kisses by any girl would ever turn them into a prince. However, some I genuinely think were great guys. I was just not the right girl with the right kiss for them. So a frog they remained. What I discovered though, was I was a frog myself. I sat and waited for love to find me. I watched the world around me and thought, where is my prince? Eventually, I learned my prince could not be found until I found myself. How could I expect anyone to love me, when I could not love myself?

So I worked on me. I found happiness in myself. I realized I was OK. No, I was not perfect, and never will be for that matter. But each day is a new chance to be good, so be happy, to spread joy. Each day I have a chance to live and make a difference. Once I found myself, my world started to change. I walked with more pride, smiled with true happiness and lived with a passion. I was blooming into who I should be like Bill Copeland said. “Try to be like the turtle – at ease in your own shell.”  And once I was, I could stick my neck out to try again. The difference now though, is that I no longer settle for toads. Nope. This little frog girl jumped out of that pond to get another view. Once I thought more of myself, I could expect more from the world like Mao Tse-Tung explained.  “We think too small, like the frog at the bottom of the well. He thinks the sky is only as big as the top of the well. If he surfaced, he would have an entirely different view.”

I am out of the well now. And let me tell you, the view is spectacular…and my prince is even more than I ever dreamed of.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

For Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge ~ Nature.

 

18 thoughts on “Frogs and Turtles Teach us Life and Love

  1. Pingback: How I met hubby (a fairy tale) | Franky tells it like it is

  2. The frog’s a cutie, Michelle. I enjoyed your thoughts as usual. Loving means taking chances and not always getting back what you put in or even something positive. I think you have to balance going way out in love every time you meet someone who might be Mr./Ms. Right and never taking a chance at all. Learn from mistakes in love just as you learn from mistakes in other things.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am SOOOOOO glad I didn’t give up when I wanted to. I have had my heart broken a time or two, or three. But, in hindsight, I can see that they were just not right for me nor I for them. Things work out, or not, for a reason. One reason could be-the man I am dating now is amazing. Had I been stuck wasting my time on a frog, I would have never met my prince:)

      Like

  3. Pingback: Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge: Nature (and Human Nature Inextricably Bound in Lower Manhattan) | Lens and Pens by Sally

Leave a Reply

