Sharing My World

For today, I thought I would do Cee’s Share Your World Challenge, which is to make some lists about your life from her topics ideas. So here goes. This is my life, this week anyway.

Movies that cheer me up:

Dances With Wolves

This movie is so beautifully done. It makes me embarrassed to think how the government treated the Indian nation though. I am not a history buff, but I assume there is some resemblance to history in this movie. And if so, those truths are very sad. I like to think that Kevin Costner’s character represents the good (maybe fewer in numbers) who tried to be fair and kind though. His character shows what good can be and how hard it is to do when it is not the “norm” of the times.

 
 
Serendipity

Oh, this movie makes be believe in true love, romance and destiny. [Insert deep sighs here.]

 
 
Ever After

One of the most romantic and dramatic versions of Cinderella. I adore Drew Barrymore and this movie makes me cry and laugh every time. This also makes me wish there was some knight on a horse to come save me. [Insert a bigger deep sigh here.]

 
 
Fox and the Hound

My all-time favorite cartoon classic. It has friendship, drama and action. I cried. I laughed. I wanted to be the fox and have a hound friend. No matter how old I get, I will smile every time I see this. Never fail.

 
 
Stuff that makes me laugh:

Sarcasm, lots of sarcasm
My dog’s faces and noises
Listening to people’s excuses for missing work
Rude but true eCards on Facebook

Books I want to read:

I actually have a wish list of books that I have read reviews of, heard friends speak of, or came across that looked good. Slowly, I will get to them.
(Currently want to finish reading) The Kingmaker’s Daughter by Philippa Gregory and then the sequels to this Cousins War Series (The White Princess, The King’s Curse)
The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho
Love Story by Erich Segal
The Beauty Myth by Naomi Wolf

Recent Favorite Songs:

Baby I’m Worth It by Fifth Harmony (Makes me want to start dancing, lol, and could be a picky dater theme song.)

 
 
Assassins Creed by Lindsey Stirling (All of her music is amazing to me. So powerful.)

 
 
Taylor Swift’s Bad Blood (Just love the beat and the lyrics. Makes me want to sing this to all the people who went out of their way to hurt me. And the video is pretty fun to watch too.)

 
 
Sail by AWOLNATION (I just love this beat. Never watched the video till now. Kind of made me think about the actual lyrics. Adds a new layer to my interest now.)

 
 
Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

This last week I was grateful for freedom. Over the Memorial Day weekend, I had the complete freedom to do whatever I wanted. So I kayaked, rode my horse and bike, took pictures, slept in, cooked out, blogged, and house hunted. Years ago, I used to make plans but they were always usurped by family members who had things for me to do. (Some of genuine need but some not.) I have also spent many a day either deployed or at some military training school/event. So, being home and free to do whatever I desired is greatly appreciated when I get it.

As for what I am looking forward to…Well, I need to look for a house since my landlord informed me that she would like hers back. Therefore, I have found a few places that look interesting and I will be going to see them. I also met a gentlemen over the Memorial Day weekend. We exchanged numbers after crossing paths the second time in a few days, and a potential lunch date was thrown out. So…guess we will see what happens with those things. The future could have lots of excitement 🙂

share

9 thoughts on “Sharing My World

    • I know! There were stacks of free books on deployments. I’d stop and read covers and pick them up. I sent many home with me but never read half of them 😦 So I sent most of them to Goodwill. Figured someone should have the chance to read them. So now, I only keep a list and get the books when I am ready for it.

      Liked by 1 person

    • The little facts I know sound awful, certainly no pride in that history. It’s sad to see how people have treated each other over the generations. And its even more sad when its your “people” who did the wrong.

      Like

Leave a Reply

