Living Your Dreams

wizard of oz small

Recently, a few friends and I met at Disney World to celebrate our friendship and an upcoming wedding. While we there, we stopped by the sidewalk signatures. One of my favorite photos is the Wizard of OZ one above. To me, this symbolized so much of our lives.

All three of us girls were in Iraq together back in 2006. We have stayed friends since then. Sometimes a long time passes between chats or visits due to the hectic pace of life. Regardless though, we have stayed friends. And through all those long years we have learned to live our dreams. They haven’t all come true quickly, or maybe not even at all. But like in the Wizard of Oz, we have all never given up the hope of finding them. We have never stopped believing in ourselves, or each other.

Sometimes we just have to tweak our steps to get to our dreams depending on the situations we have been presented. Like in the original photo I took, the shoes were not red like in the movie. So, with a little Photoshop magic, I tweaked the picture to get what I wanted.

wizard of oz no red small

As I have grown older, I have realized that I can still dream. I can dream big or I can dream small. Regardless of what the dream is though, none of them will come true if I don’t take steps towards making them happen. And I think that is the thing that I lot of people forget. They dream and they dream. And when nothing happens, they are disappointed. But what did they do to make them happen? What did they do at the first set back?

I have had my share of setbacks, hell, I think I am having one now. But, you know what? It won’t make me stop trying. No. One setback or ten won’t bring me down for too long. I have survived much worse. Nope. I will keep dreaming and I will click my heels together. And one day, my dreams and desires will reflect my hard work and I will be able to say, “There’s no place like home.”

iphone challenge

6 thoughts on “Living Your Dreams

  1. Pingback: 50 Happy Things in 2015 | Chasing Life and Finding Dreams

Leave a Reply

