Imaginary friend. Can I have one now?

I never had an imaginary friend when I was young, but I would like to have one now. Wait. Did I really just say that?

Well, yes. Yes, I did, and it is true so let me just explain before you click away and say, Wow, this lady is bat shit crazy. There may be some small truth to the crazy, but it is more like a fun crazy as opposed to a lock-me-up crazy. Anyway, back to the adult imaginary friend I would like to have.

Don’t get me wrong, I DO have real, living friends. They just all live far away (cons of military life) or have their own busy lives that restrict them from being at my beck and call. Go figure. Therefore, I don’t get to see them as often as I would like.

My would-be imaginary friend is pretty dang fabulous and ALWAYS available. She lets me rant and vent when I am upset and gives me the best advice. She goes nearly everywhere with me too since she is in love with trying new things. On any given day, you can find us jogging a new trail, learning to paint, or signing up for skydiving. We take road trips to the beach at the drop of a hat. We read the same books so we can discuss the story. Sporadically, you may see us dressed to the nines for no given reason other than we want to look marvelous. We randomly dance to cheer each other up. We laugh so hard we cry. She is MY PERSON. (Kind of like in Grey’s Anatomy.)

This always-there friend is like all of my dear friends rolled into one. She is the super-star, ultimate-girl, call-in-case-of-an-emergency friend. By the way, she and I are going to hear a featured orchestra saxophonist play tonight. And of course, we will be looking glamorous.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

For the Daily Prompt ~ Many of us had imaginary friends as young children. If your imaginary friend grew up alongside you, what would his/her/its life be like today? (Didn’t have one? write about a non-imaginary friend you haven’t seen since childhood.)

3 thoughts on “Imaginary friend. Can I have one now?

Leave a Reply

